Religion | Friend or Foe?

Now, this isn’t a normal fashion-filled post from me, but I feel like it’s something that needs to be addressed…

Today marks the arrival of the traditional Sikh harvest festival Vaisakhi, marking the arrival of Spring and new beginnings. First things first, happy Vaisakhi to all of my readers who celebrate it!

vaisakhi

source

As a Sikh, I have no qualms in putting forward my own opinion that, if practiced right, religion can be a wonderful thing. It can help us stay humble, grounded and equal. However, a rather deep conversation I had with my best friend a couple of weeks ago got me thinking about the deep stuff like religion. 

Sitting in a busy Central London Busaba Eathai restaurant (they’re fantastic, by the way!), she told me she’d been thinking about religion lately – all because of one recent interaction she’d had with a Christian preacher trying to convert her to the ways of Christianity.

Now, I’m all for being able to interact in conversation about other religions and trying to understand other cultures, but I feel it is at the point of forcing religion on others where the whole concept becomes quite dangerous. You only need to look at this debate involving EDL leader Tommy Robinson to truly understand the dangers that can come from misunderstandings surrounding religion. The whole situation is perfectly summed up by the following image…

religion-is-like-a-penis

source

As the festival of Vaisakhi celebrates new beginnings, I’d like to take this opportunity to encourage all my readers to share and understand each other’s religions in the hope that we can begin to become a less forceful, more accepting society.

What are your thoughts on the topic? Debate in the comments below, I’d love to know your thoughts!

Until next time,

Sascha xo

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa, Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh 

Leave a Reply

