Review | Ben Howard at Alexandra Palace 

Last night, my mum and I made the hour long journey up to North London to watch Ben Howard in all his glory at Ally Pally.

Safe to say, he didn’t disappoint.

Before I go into the specifics of the gig, it’s worth mentioning that trekking up the hill to Ally Pally is almost worth it for the view alone.

 

Beautiful!

 

 

London’s skyline by night

 

As soon as we hopped of the £1 shuttle bus (result!) from Wood Green tube station, I was taken aback by just how beautiful the venue actually is…

Once inside, things only got better! Ally Pally has a sort of indoor festival vibe, complete with food court and a rather hipster bar.

We opted for dinner from the Fine Burger stall, which at £22 wasn’t exactly cheap, but definitely hit all the right spots. Bacon and cheddar burger with skin on fries? Yes please.

Now, on to the main event…

I have to say, Ben’s opening to the show left a little to be desired. Although very soothing, his quiet choice of first song didn’t really get the crowd going and struggled to fill the arena.

It soon got better though. With popular tunes such as I Forget Where We Were and Conrad getting the crowd going, I felt like I was at a civilised music festival (that’s a new one, eh?)

The classic Keep Your Head Up definitely got the best reception and was a joy to watch. Ben also did a slow rendition of The Fear, which really brought to light the soulful lyrics.

Overall, the way Ben commanded the stage with his guitar playing and impeccable voice was incredible. I felt like I was listening to the album but on a much larger scale.

The only thing I wish he’d played more of is his old album, as I fear some of this new stuff is a bit too samey.

But all in all, it was an amazing night and I would definitely recommend going to see him in concert any day of the week!

If you’re interested, you can also find my experience of the gig in video form on my new YouTube channel here:

What gigs have you been to lately? Who would you recommend? Let me know in the comments below!

 

2 thoughts on “Review | Ben Howard at Alexandra Palace 

Leave a Reply

