Lifestyle | Body Image – it works both ways

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while now, ever since I stumbled across this parody video of Meghan Trainor’s All About That Bass.

Since Jamelia’s comments on body image causing quite a stir, it’s become a rather relevant topic.

I’m sorry, but I believe there is one fundamental issue with this song and come to think of it, most of Meghan Trainor’s work. I mean, the lyrics ‘I’ll be the perfect wife, buying groceries’ from her latest single aren’t exactly worthy of a gold star either, but that’s a whole other kettle of fish.

The upbeat pop beats seem to have masked the fact that Trainor uses lyrics such as ‘skinny bitches,’ which seem to have gone rather unnoticed by the general public.

Now don’t get me wrong, this article isn’t supposed to be a Meghan Trainor bashing rant, but I do feel that some of these lyrics warrant a discussion on body image, from a different point of view.

IMG_1516
I’m probably a ‘skinny bitch’ by Meghan’s standards…

 

I am naturally a very skinny girl. I lead a healthy lifestyle, yes, but I have never gone out of my way to lose any weight. I was just blessed with an extremely fast metabolism and sometimes the weight just seems to fall off. Simply put, I can’t help how skinny I am.

Now, I’m all for positive body image and people learning to love themselves. But when imbeciles such as Meghan Trainor have to shame others in order to make themselves feel better, that is where the problems start.

If someone wrote a song and called people ‘fat bitches,’ I’m sure the reception would have been very different. Just saying.

frabz-Fat-Bitches-everywhere-I-go-1aa36a
Remix?

 

So, next time you find yourself humming along to Meghan Trainor’s tunes or slagging people off for how thin they are, ask yourself how you’d feel if the tables were turned and people were making songs about the obese.

Here’s to self acceptance, equality and positive body image for all! Happy Monday guys!

Do you feel like thin shaming is becoming a bit too much of a thing? Let me know in the comments below! 

3 thoughts on “Lifestyle | Body Image – it works both ways

  1. I was just talking about that song the other day. I completely agree with your point of view. In my opinion, this is one of the many things that is wrong with the media. The media should teach people to love their body because they are healthy and comfortable with the way they look rather than putting one body type down to make another feel better.

    it goes both ways. I’ll bet the song wouldn’t be a hit if it was a thin person talking about “fat bitches”.

Leave a Reply

