“What a slut time is, she screws everybody.”

I’m finally sitting down to write this post that I’ve been putting off for a while after opening my ‘One Line A Day’ diary  to realise I haven’t written anything in it for 2 weeks.

Last summer I got around to reading a book that everyone was raving about – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Whilst it is an excellent read and the title of this post is a quote from it, this post actually has nothing to do with it.

time2

As you might have guessed, this ramble is about time. More particularly, how time is moving far too quickly. I know I’ve mentioned this in a few previous posts but it’s such a prevalent issue in my life currently that I thought it warranted an entire post of it’s own.

Aside from my holiday to Greece (which you will all see a post on once I get my camera fixed!), I haven’t had time to stop and relax since around April. My life has been filled with revision, jury service, starting my full time summer job and year abroad preparation. There simply just aren’t enough hours in the day to catch up with all my old friends, write in my somewhat neglected diary or update this blog regularly (apologies, I’m trying my hardest!).

I think all this dwelling on time has come about from me finally slowing down enough to realise that I’m moving abroad in a matter of months for the year and by the time I come back all my friends will have graduated. I’m filled with excitement but it’s still such a bizzare concept to get my head around.

time1

Another related thing that’s been playing on my mind recently is the timing of when we meet people. Friends, love interests, colleagues, acquaintance. I’ve never really believed in this idea before but it lately I’ve found it is true that everyone we meet comes into our life at a certain time for a reason. Whether they stay for a few months or our whole lives, everyone has lessons to teach us. It’s true that sometimes timing is crap and there have been instances lately that have made me think that one thing happening at a slightly different time could have had an entirely different outcome but the fact is we don’t get to control time. Ultimately, time controls us.

3139778

As John Green famously put, time screws everyone. We’re always constantly running out of it. I don’t really know how I’ve managed to write 400 words on the concept of time. But I guess with all the things going on in my life lately, I’ve been reminded that time is precious. Make sure you trust the timing of your life, but don’t let it to control you and sure as hell don’t waste it.

2 thoughts on ““What a slut time is, she screws everybody.”

  1. Great post and a real eye-opener! Time honestly scares me sometimes, like I want to do more but I never seem to have enough time anymore. I really like the bit where you said that we should trust the timing of our lives and that people come into our lives for a reason, I never believed it before but it’s true. Really enjoyed reading this, hope you’re having a great day!!

    -Nabeela xo
    http://nabsticle.blogspot.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

