Review | The Real Greek, Windsor

I spend almost every day of my summer working in Windsor so it is not exactly my first choice location to spend one of my days off. However, that’s exactly what I was dragged into doing last Wednesday and I must admit, boy was I glad.

The Real Greek is located just behind the Theatre Royal and you could easily walk right past it. The inside is decorated like a kitsch little slice of Greece and has a very relaxed feel about it.

TRG_Windsor_1

And don’t even get me started on the food. My friend and I chose a few mezze dishes to share, proper Greek style. We couldn’t decide on just 2 or 3, so went all out and ordered Houmous with Greek flatbreads, filo pastry feta parcels, lamb meatballs, chicken skewers and halloumi and chicken wraps. Everything was served on a stack of plates similar to a posh afternoon tea and it all tasted absolutely divine.

IMG_6984Even though we couldn’t finish our mains and ended up taking a doggy bag home, our stomachs are built differently for the consumption of sweets (or so we like to tell ourselves). So we were easily tempted into ordering the Baklava (my personal favourite) and a Greek ice cream pie. Yum.

IMG_6983

The verdict: 5 stars. If you’re ever in Windsor, give this place a try. Beats a cheeky Nando’s any day of the week.

Leave a Reply

